The Founding Board Members

Bill Pickle, Chairman

Radio show host, Downtown Development, Journalist, Genesis Management Finance Co. Owner/Business, Finance,

Mediation & Arbitration

bpickle@virtusacademysc.org

Carlos O. Washington, Vice Chairman 

Dept. of Juvenile Justice Board Member, Former President of Florence Jr. Football League, School Foundation Member, Salvation Army Board Member, Florence Youth Basketball Board Member/

Governance & Student Discipline

cwashington@virtusacademysc.org

Gary Summerfield Jr., FNP, Secretary

Nurse Practitioner at The Medical University of SC Emergency Department,  Florence Campus.

Former Captain in the US Air Force Reserves.  US Army Veteran of Operation Desert Storm/Shield.  Active member of Calvary Baptist Church Florence, SC.  

gsummerfield@virtusacademysc.org

Cherry Gerrald, Treasurer

Assistant Vice President  and Branch  Manager  of Citizens  Bank,  Florence,  SC. Active in many church and community  volunteer  organizations as well  as business  development  for Florence.

cgerrald@virtusacademysc.org

Amanda Tyner, RN

SC State Board of Nursing RN, Liaison for McLeod Health, Nurse Case Manager, Experienced Event Planner; Involved in Area Economic Growth; Experienced Public Speaker.

atyner@virtusacademysc.org

Dr. John Atkins, MD

Pulmonologist with Dorn VA Medical Center in Columbia, SC

Veteran of US Army Medical Corps. 

Graduate of United States Military Academy at West Point 

jatkins@virtusacademysc.org

Dr. Thomas Ducey, PhD

Reseach Microbiologist with the US Department of Agriculture

City of Darlington resident

Volunteer youth baseball coach

Interested inSTEM development and integration

Facilitator of the Virtus Academy LEGO CLub

tducey@virtusacademysc.org

8th Board Member TBD

9th Board Member TBD

Contact the Interim Principal

rmathews@virtusacademysc.org

Contact the Assistant Principal

Bhamilton@virtusacademysc.org

©2019 by Virtus Academy.